IND vs ENG: Shreyanka Patil, Saika Ishfaque spin web around England in 3rd T20I


India’s spin duo of Shreyanka Patil and Saika Ishafaque spun a web around the England batters during the 3rd T20I in Mumbai as they took three-wicket hauls.

Shreyanka and Saika made their international debut for India during the first match of the series after their impressive exploits in the first season of the WPL. The visitors had won the toss on the day and elected to bat first.

England had already bagged the series and decided to give Maia Boucher up front. However, the English opener departed quickly as Renuka Singh struck with the third ball of the first over. Sophia Dunkley would get some momentum before Renuka struck again as Shreyanka took the catch.

Then it was time for Saika to enter the picture as she dismissed Alice Capsey. Heather Knight and Amy Jones would steady the ship before Saika got rid of the latter. The Indian spinner would then be on a hat-trick as she cleaned up Danielle Gibson in the next delivery.

Shreyanka would step up next and got two wickets off consecutive deliveries as she dismissed Bess Heath and Freya Kemp. The youngster would then clean up Sophie Eccelstone to claim her third wicket. She almost had a fourth one as the umpire had adjudged that Charlotte Dean was trapped in front of the stumps.

However, a review was successful, and the decision was reversed as Shreyanka finished with figures of three for 19 in her four overs.

Saika was also economical as she conceded just 22 runs in her four overs and took three wickets. England would ultimately be bowled out for 126 runs.

Shreyanka said during the innings break that it was no mean feat that she was able to pull off on Sunday and felt happy with her achievement.

“Three wickets is not a joke for me as its been a lot of hard work and I am very much happy. Bowling slow on this wicket really helps, and I kept so. Before we came into this game, we were like lets enjoy this game and do what we need to do,” said Shreyanka.

Published On:

Dec 10, 2023

Source link