yogi: UP CM Yogi meets Shah, Nadda to give last-minute touch to his ministry | India News – Times of India


LUCKNOW: More than 45 ministers are likely to take oath along with CM Yogi Adityanath on Friday even as he went to New Delhi from Dehradun after attending the swearing-in ceremony of Pushkar Singh Dhami government on Wednesday for a last-minute brainstorming over the shape and size of his next government.
Sources said that the BJP’s UP core committee after long deliberation had short-listed around 70-odd MLAs which could be included in Yogi Cabinet 2.0. Of these, chances are that between 45 and 48 of them could be inducted in the government.
Amid speculations on various names, sources said that Speaker could be selected from a panel comprising veteran MLAs Ram Naresh Agnihotri, who won from Mainpuri’s Bhogaon for the second consecutive time, Surya Pratap Shahi, Satish Mahana and Ashutosh Tandon ‘Gopalji’. The original choice, finance and parliamentary affairs minister Suresh Khanna, is believed to have expressed his desire to stay in the government.
Sources said that Khanna is likely to retain the same position and portfolios. It is also believed that out of three former government officials, MLC AK Sharma, retired IPS Asim Arun and former ED officer Rajeshwar Singh, one or maximum two could make it to the Yogi government, keeping caste and region combination in mind.
Among those who are waiting to be retained are Siddharth Nath Singh, the lone Kayasth minister in Yogi Government, Shrikant Sharma, Laxmi Narayan Chaudhary, Dr Mahendra Singh, Jai Pratap Singh among others. Sources said that social welfare minister Ramapati Shastri and others who have crossed 70 years of age might be dropped as this time the cabinet would be formed keeping in mind the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.
Among the new faces, names which are doing the rounds are Anupshahr MLA Sanjay Sharma, Mant MLA Rajesh Chaudhary, who created one of the biggest upset when he defeated seven-time MLA Shyam Sunder Sharma, Deoband MLA Kunwar Brijesh Singh, Jewar MLA Dhirendra Singh, Noida MLA Pankaj Singh
Sources said that Yogi met Union home minister Amit Shah, BJP chief JP Nadda and UP election in charge Dharmendra Pradhan on Wednesday evening to finalise the list of ministers likely to be sworn-in on March 25.

Source link